Posted by: GlutenFreeGypsy | March 31, 2010

Out of Town

I think that part of leaving the comfort of home is to try something new. I love exploring towns and communities.  I’m always seeking a gluten-free meal that I haven’t had over and over.  Not another salad, burger sans bun, or baked potato.  I want different!  I want new!  I want…cactus?  On a plate?  Sure!  The above photo is from a day journey to Sedona, AZ.  I had read that Oaxaca Restaurante catered to the gluten-free out there.  And just like that, a new experience.

It was bizarre, I won’t lie.  But it was new.  And fun.  And completely Arizona.

We just returned from a mini vacation to Payson, Arizona.  Matt’s family has a cabin there, perfect for escaping life.  I called a bakery I had read about, asking the owner about gluten-free offerings.  Like magic, we arrived this morning to gluten free bread to go with our egg omelette.  Matt designated the cute little baker’s accent to be South African.  (He has an affinity for all things South Africa.)  I can honestly say I was humbled by the idea that someone baked especially for me!  If you’re in Payson, visit the Red Elephant Bakery.  It’s interesting and if you are of the short-term attention group like I am, there’s a room full of knick knack and antiques to peruse.

Today also included a tour of Fossil Creek Creamery.  We sell wonderful items at work from the creamery and I’ve wanted to check it out for months.  The owner, John, was the epitome of a proud business owner.  He introduced us to the goats by name, ensuring that each one is part of the family.  How can you not but love a local artisan like John, who treats his animals, and business, with respect and appreciation.

Responses

  1. Wow. That must’ve been… different… What did it taste like?

    • Honestly? I think it tasted like the sauce that it swam in! Otherwise, it was kind of like a gummy green pepper!

      • Again: Wow. I don’t know if I would’ve tried it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

