Posted by: GlutenFreeGypsy | February 4, 2010

Stop Thinking

…And start Making

Doing

Being

Much of the time, I am a person full of ideas, notions, and intentions.  The problem I often run across is while I think think think about all these things I want to do, I just never get around to moving forward.  Part of this issue comes from my immense inability to make a decision.  If I were in an interview where they ask you profound questions such as “What do others say about you?” or “What’s your biggest strength?”  I would beseechingly shout out that I am a failure when it comes to decisions.  Of course, you can never really say truthful things during these interviews…you’d never get any jobs!

Strangely, this fear of beginning something is daunting in the world of cooking and baking.  I am always concerned with messing something up.  Funny part: I went to culinary school!  Did the infamous Le Cordon Bleu thing and still have an asinine fear of wrecking the outcome of kitchen experiments.  I’m working on it, I swear…

But moving forward, today I finally made my own Larabar.  Inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie months ago, I finally took the plunge.  The result:  success!

These little guys were so simple, and perfect when you need a snack.  I try to avoid refined sugar and processed goods, so I’ve leaned heavily on the expensive Larabar for months.  No more!  I am my own bar maker!  You can use any combination of nuts, and any adds-ins, but typically the bars are only a few raw ingredients.

Cinnamon Roll Larabars

1/4 c raw almonds

1/2 cup packed dates (I had deglet noor dates)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. cinnamon

dash of ground flaxseed

Put all ingredients into food processor, and whiz until blended and sticky.  I rolled a few balls, and the rest I put into a plastic baggie to replicate the bars.  Easy and wonderful!

Responses

  1. 1. Your indecision is endearing except when I have low blood sugar. 2. I’m not a fan of the original Larabar so I’m anxious to try yours! 3. Excited for playdate tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

