Posted by: GlutenFreeGypsy | January 3, 2010

Cheers!

I hope everyone had a delightful New Years filled with food, fun, and festivities.  Though ours was pretty uneventful, I was completely okay with it!New Years Day was mellow, though I did motivate myself to go do some work at the farm.  While I was there I grabbed a bunch of fresh basil and beautiful purple bell peppers-yep-purple.  Matt and I broke out the processor and chopped, sliced, and shredded our way into dinner.  Gluten free pizza…

Easy Pizza

Food For Life Brown Rice Tortillas

Pasta sauce

1 c chopped peppers and garlic

2 c shredded mozzarella

1/2 c chopped basil

1.  Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Lightly cover each tortilla with pasta sauce.  Top with mozzarella, veggies, and fresh basil.  Pop in oven for about 10 minutes.  This made three personal pizzas.  I only put a dent in mine…

And after dinner, I made PESTO.  Yum.

Pesto

2 c basil leaves, rinsed and dried

3 garlic cloves, peeled

2 Tbl pine nuts, lightly toasted

3 Tbl olive oil

1/4 tsp. salt

Note:  I used the handy-dandy food processor.

Chop garlic.  Scrape bowl and add basil, pulse about 20 times.  Drizzle in olive oil with machine running.  Scrape bowl.  Add pine nuts and salt.  Pulse until nuts are chopped.

This is best left overnight.  Put the pesto into a jar or and cover with a thin layer of olive oil.

I got home tonight and was beyond excited for a pesto, tomato, and fresh mozzarella sandwich. Let me tell you-the picture may be off-centered, but yum!  Sorry I got excited before thinking to take a pic!

Tomorrow I have the day off and am trying to coerce Matt into one of our old-days day trip.  Longing to see something new!  Goodnight!

Responses

  1. if i could breathe/taste anything right now i’d demand one of those sandwiches – my fave. yum!

  2. Happy New Year to you as well! Hard to believe the month is already half over!!

    This pizza and sandwich both look delicious, quick and easy! I’ve got to try that pesto!


Leave a Reply

Categories

