Posted by: GlutenFreeGypsy | December 6, 2009

Camera Cravings

Typically, I’m never without a camera.  I whip that fast-acting, quick-thinking mini machine out faster than I can prompt a group to get together and say cheese.  My friend Jess is the ultimate camera carrier, knowing that documentation of random days will pay off in the long run.  However, following one too many drops, my camera deemed itself spent many months ago.  Luckily, Matt is a quasi-camera nerd.  He looks at lenses online, and has been known to tote around the old tri-pod.  Good for his blogging girlfriend.

We spent Thanksgiving in Tucson last week with my parents.  I was inspired to make this little frittata for breakfast in the midst of my Mexican meal preparation.  I’ve been working on a farm in Mesa every week and come home with bags of fresh vegetables and fruits that demand attention.  I have become the ultimate gypsy, in that I tote these vegetables around between the many homes we have of late.  Last week I carted basil, tomatoes, zucchini, and eggs all the way to Tucson.  Naturally, they must be used!  With cheese of course!

I used a recipe from Epicurious.com for butternut squash enchiladas for dinner.  For the non-meat eaters out there (aka Maggles) this recipe would be perfect.  Add some homemade guacamole, homemade cranberry salsa, sautéed Brussel sprouts, Tucson-bred tamales, corn tortilla chips, and margaritas, and you’ve got yourself a Mexican thanksgiving meal.  I made a Mexican style cheesecake for dessert as well.  All in all a success.  With one breakfast picture to show!

Cast Iron Frittata

1.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Saute vegetables in a little olive oil until slightly browned (I used zucchini though you could use any type you desire.)

2. In a seperate bowl, scramble four eggs, add a little milk, and cheese of any kind (feta on mine.)  Pour the eggs into the skillet with the vegetables, place some sliced tomatoes around the skillet.  Put the skillet into the hot oven. Bake for 25 minutes, or until top is starting to color.

Leave a Reply

Categories

