Posted by: GlutenFreeGypsy | October 24, 2009

Free Goodies

Is it just the way we are raised?  We as a society LOVE free stuff.  I find that it is so easy to appreciate something when it was a gift, or a prize, or just bought for you be a loved one.  Free stuff is the highlight of the day.  So when I received a lovely package this week of course I got excited!  As mentioned, I went to the New England Celiac Conference a few weeks ago, where I was inundated with products, information, and knowledge.  One of the many vendors there was Erewhon cereals, which I just learned is owned by U.S. mills.  They were promoting two new gluten free cereals, the Cocoa Crispy Brown Rice and Strawberry Crisp.  If you signed up, they would send you a box of one of these new cereals to try!  How wonderful is that!?!  Lo and behold, it arrived on my doorstep this week.  Sure I could run up the street and buy it.  But it came to me…free….

strawcrisp_main

strawcrisp_nutfact_web_lg

I’m pretty excited to give it a whirl.  The gluten free world has changed so much in the past seven years since I’ve entered it.  In the beginning, there were “substitutions.”  I use the term loosely because I nearly cried over the first purchased loaf of gluten free bread.  It was dense, crumbly, tasteless, and terribly bad for you.  It seems that now, thankfully, the trend in the gluten free community is shifting from items that replicate what we once had to foods that actually give nutrition and not just the fulfillment of a memory.  More and more companies are making their products whole grain and some are starting to fortify.  It’s quite an exciting time.  Erewhon promotes a natural, nothing added, wholesome food, and I love them for it.  Yay free stuff!

Responses

  1. I remember how sad it was when you first became GF. All we could eat was Mexican or PF Chang’s.

  2. Oh but eat it we did!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

